Clifton Chamber of Commerce honors community members at successful 51st Annual Banquet

The Clifton Chamber of Commerce hosted the 51st Annual Banquet Saturday, April 24. Local business owners, the Chamber Board of Directors, and many more attended the event, which featured a live and silent auction. Chad Holt and the Chizlers provided musical entertainment for the event.

Chamber President Paige Key began the evening with a welcome before dinner before Sheffield Kadane delivered the invocation pictured above.

Kelli and the Rockin K&C Team was out in force for the event. The group served those that attended.

Rockin’ K&C BBQ and Catering served a barbecue meal complete with all the fixins. Delicious brownies, peach cobbler, and the signature banana pie rounded out the meal.

Chad Holt and the Chizlers

Chad Holt and the band’s brand of Texas blues and signature country twang complemented the event perfectly.

Silent Auction

Kathy and Joe Winters sold stretch raffle tickets.

Silent auction items drew attention throughout the evening, particularly with the “Whiskey Wagon” and adult beverages from the Red Caboose Winery. Many more contributed to the fund-raising cause, including renowned local artist Martin Grelle.

Tables, Friends and Family

Community Service Award

Pictured are Kenneth Mills, Lloyd Voges, Paige Key, and Adam Willmann. Both Willmann and Voges received plaques of appreciation for their time on the Chamber Board of Directors.

Adam Willman received the Community Service Award, receiving applause from the crowd and some laughter after jokes were exchanged throughout. Dr. Justin Squyres presented the award to his colleague and friend.

When you grow up here, everything you hate about Clifton and Bosque County is everything you love as a parent. I couldn’t have a better place to raise my two boys. I am who I am today because of this community, the people in this audience, and the people outside.” -Willmann during his award speech.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The crowd erupted at the announcement of Barbara and Gene Aars for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

BC Bennit presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Gene and Barbara Aars. Both have conducted incredible fundraisers for aspects of the community over the years. Barbara stepped in as Executive Director of the Bosque Museum during an interim period, serving the community institution well. They’ve both spent time in community events and fundraiser organization.

“31 years ago, March 31, 1990, this couple hosted, in this building, a fundraiser for the Goodall-Witcher Foundation’s Making the Best Better.” -Bennit, noting on the serendipity of hosting the event at the Texas Safari Ranch. “Join me in congratulating Gene and Barbara Aars.”

Live Auction

Tom Henderson called the auction, while Kenneth Mills, BC Bennit, and Todd Clift assisted.

On behalf of the Clifton Chamber of Commcer Board, we thank each one of your for your continued support. The Chamber of Commerce is the integral component to the success of your business, which in turn, enhances our community for all it’s citizens.” – Chair Kenneth MIlls of the Clifton Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.

Sponsors for the event included Albrecht’s Pharmacy, C & O Fencing, Capital Farm Credit, Chamber of Commerce Board, Chef Liz Pannabecker, Chef Nena Rieser, Chad Holt and the Chizler’s Band, Citizens State Bank, Cliftex Theatre, Cobb Properties, Corner Drug Cafe, Five, Fredrick & Company, Jim Canuteson/Rockport Condo, Keith’s Ace Hardware, Market at the Mill, Martin Grelle, Olaf’s Restaurant, Red Caboose Winery and Distillery/Brewery, Rountree Appliances and Electronics, Texas Safari, the Little Cricket Inn, Workingman Crappie Guide.

Pictured in the photos above (left to right by photo) is Blake and Savannah Lea, Patricia Ferguson and Vickie Mitchell, Paige Key and William Key III, Boliver and Sandy Thomas, Kaitlyn and R.L. Pilcher, Barbara and Gene Aars, and Barbara and Tim Van Tassel.

The Clifton Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors is Chair Kenneth Mills, Chair Elect Savannah Lea, Past Chair Lisa Horn, Treasurer Sandie Nowlain, Secretary Nena Rieser, Megan Major, Weston Gloff, Richard Bergman, Stef Cobb, and Barbara Van Tassel. The Banquet Committee consisted of Lisa Horn, Megan Major, Sandie Nowlain, Savannah Lea, Nena Rieser, Paige Key and Stef Cobb this year.

“Thanks to all that made the evening a success,” said Key.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on print
error: Content is protected !!